Posted on

A munchkin with a score to settle.

As a former short person, I have seen life from different view points than most. I was not only a little person as a toddler but I continued to be toddler-sized until my 8th grade year. This traumatized me. All I ever wanted, in middle school, was  armpit hair and to be taller than four-foot. Sadly, neither of these wishes were granted quickly. This tragedy directly caused a fear of little people.

At my week at Show Choir Camps of America, I was reminded of these former “midget years.” I would look around and almost everyone I saw was a little person. Now, I am not saying they were dwarves, ACTUAL “little people”, or whatever those cute baby people prefer to be called nowadays. I am simply talking about short people.

As you know, I had a large fear of anyone that was significantly shorter than I. Something about little sausage fingers attached to baby doll arms scared the shiz out of me. If you stop and think about it, this fear is kind of justified. They can kick you in the shins SO easily and if they head-butt you…that is going straight towards your crotch. Guy or girl, I don’t think ANYONE wants a head-butt to the crotch.  Those six days at camp made me confront my fear of the vertically challenged and changed my thinking on those little munchkinlanders.

My first day in my group I noticed that there were two little baby girls in our room. I wondered where their daycare providers were, but soon realized they were my age. I silently prepared myself and told myself that I had nothing to fear. These small baby children were mature teenagers and I had no reason to be afraid. Still, I was constantly nervous while standing next to these small pocket pets.

After about two days, I worked up the courage to talk to one of these wee women. I was quickly surprised at how friendly she was. This was not a woman with a bad attitude due to her extremely tiny body, but a jolly little munchkin. The other pocket pal was just as cute and adorable and together they showed me the ways of their “people.”

Here are a few of the things that I learned:

  • They don’t live in trees.

 

  • They don’t bake an abundance of cookies unless they feel like it.

 

  • They are not members of the “Lollipop Guild.”

 

  • They don’t climb grocery store shelves to reach cereal boxes.

All of this information was such a shock to me that I am now completely in love with little baby people. I can finally pass a tree without guarding my fragile shins.

 

Leave a Reply

